Opinion

BUCHOLTZ: Surrey’s Vaisakhi is a celebration for our entire community

There are important points that all of us, no matter our ethnic or religious backgrounds, can draw from Vaisakhi.

  • Apr 28th, 2017

OUR VIEW: Surrey’s politicians must make housing crisis a priority

A family on the verge of homelessness shouldn’t need to call the media before they get the help they so desperately need.

  • Apr 27th, 2017

Roses and Rotten Tomatoes (April 28, 2017)

A weekly collection of compliments and complaints sent in by readers

  • Apr 27th, 2017

ZYTARUK: Heck, I still prefer the name Whalley. So there.

Whalley is heritage, albeit heritage lite. Surrey City Centre is not.

FLETCHER: ‘Hulk Horgan’ hides health hole

John Horgan’s Irish bully routine avoids key NDP questions

Roses and Rotten Tomatoes (April 21, 2017)

A weekly collection of compliments and complaints sent in by readers

  • Apr 20th, 2017
video
Bargains to be had at police auction in Surrey
  • 103 views

 

East Panorama Ridge group vows to fight dense Surrey development
  • 131 views

 

Surrey Vaisakhi Parade 2017
  • 481 views

 

Surrey Special Olympic teen breaks two powerlifting records
  • 116 views

 

OUR VIEW: Be wise, Surrey voters, and stay dry

Pay attention during this election, and don’t forget to use your common-sense umbrellas

ZYTARUK: Fighting still, in Surrey and Ottawa, for Kassandra’s Law

No parent ever wants a government bill or law named after their child, as this usually means their baby has died under tragically avoidable circumstances.

BUCHOLTZ: High cost of housing hits home for too many

The pocketbook issue that may prove to have the biggest influence on how people vote May 9 is housing

  • Apr 20th, 2017

BC Liberals are bold as brass

Christy Clark runs on economic record

Roses and Rotten Tomatoes (April 14, 2017)

A weekly collection of compliments and complaints sent in by readers

  • Apr 13th, 2017

SIMPSON: One-parent households, you have my utmost respect

In Canada, there are more than 1.6M lone-parent families – and I tip my hat to every one of them

Thank you Surrey – over to you

I will forever be grateful and just a little amazed at the level of trust people put in me to get their story right.

  • Mar 30th, 2017

25 years behind the lens

I have had the privilege to step into people’s lives and document their most private moments.

Not just a job, a calling

For me, The Leader has never been just a way to earn a paycheque.

Out of the dark and into digital, another door closes

It’s hard to say goodbye to the countless people I’ve interviewed and wrote about over the years.

Roses and Rotten Tomatoes (March 30, 2017)

A weekly collection of compliments and complaints sent in by readers

  • Mar 30th, 2017

The road trip continues for this longtime reporter

Hopefully I can continue doing what I’ve been fortunate to do for the past 28 years.

The Leader: In business 88 years

A fast-growing Surrey will need to have a print newspaper with a strong digital presence for many years to come.

ZYTARUK: Biding our time for those four horsemen

A guy waving one of those “repent for the end is near” signs...

  • Mar 29th, 2017