Nine communities receive Open for Business Awards

Nine communities receive Open for Business Awards

Winners honoured for providing support for small businesses.

Surrey is among a record nine B.C. communities to be honoured with the B.C. Small Business Roundtable’s Open for Business Awards as part of the Union of British Columbia Municipalities (UBCM) annual convention in Whistler.

The Open for Business Awards recognize local policies, projects and programs that support small business. This year’s recipients are Surrey, the City of Langley, Port Coquitlam, Grand Forks, Kelowna, Parksville, Salmon Arm, Smithers and Vernon.

As an incentive to promote an open-for- business culture, the B.C. Small Business Roundtable is providing $10,000 to each winning community to fund a local, small-business friendly program that aligns with the principles of the B.C. Small Business Accord.

This year, for the first time, the B.C. Small Business Roundtable received submissions from all eight economic regions and short-listed 13 community finalists. Award evaluations were based on local measures that make it easier to do business in that community, including enhancing small-business competitiveness, recognizing the contributions of small businesses to the community, and promoting the principles of the B.C. Small Business Accord.

The evaluation criteria reflected the accord by recognizing that when small businesses are celebrated and supported by their communities, they are more likely to be competitive and innovative.

The B.C. Small Business Roundtable was established in 2005 to be the voice for small business to government. Through its diverse sector membership of small-business owners and association leaders, the roundtable helps government develop strategies to support the growth and success of small business throughout the province.





Surrey North Delta Leader