Lois Jackson will be mayor of Delta for the next four years.

Election 2014: Lois Jackson is the only game in town

Corporation of Delta: Longtime council member will be elected mayor by acclamation as no other challengers have come forward.

Delta council will have Lois Jackson as its mayor for another four years.

The longtime council member will be declared elected by acclamation now that the deadline for nominations passed Friday with Jackson as the only candidate for mayor.

Jackson has said this will be her last term on council. She was first elected to council as an alderman in 1973 – the first woman elected to council in Delta.

Jackson sat as a councillor for 15 of the next 20 years until elected as mayor in 2000, a position she has held for five terms covering the past 14 years.

Jackson easily defeated three other candidates in the 2011 election, her margin of victory being over 4,000 votes more than runner-up Krista Engelland.

Heather King placed third in the mayoralty race three years ago after serving one term as councillor. She is one of 14 hopefuls in the race for six council seats.

All five current Delta councillors are running for re-election, including two members of Jackson’s Delta Independent Voters Association (DIVA) team. Scott Hamilton, elected in 2011, stepped down this past summer after his election as MLA for Delta-North a year earlier.

DIVA incumbents Robert Campbell and Ian Paton will be joined by Rod Binder as candidates for council.

Campbell is a longtime councillor, serving since 1999, while Paton has just completed his first term, having been elected in 2011 while topping the polls. Binder is making his first attempt at a seat on council.

Couns. Jeannie Kanakos and Bruce McDonald are seeking re-election under the banner Independents Working For You, while Sylvia Bishop of Ladner is gunning for a second term as an independent.

Also looking to capture a seat on council are Johan Ackermann, Lori Mayhew, Jennifer Thoss, Peter Van der Velden and Nicholas Wong of Delta Connect, along with independents Peter Mattoo and Ron Cailliou.


Surrey North Delta Leader

Get local stories you won't find anywhere else right to your inbox.
Sign up here

Just Posted

Police warn of ‘dangerous’ sex offender, with ‘high risk to re-offend,’ living in Surrey

Howard Geddes-Skelding, 28, was released from BC Corrections Aug. 14, Surrey RCMP say

Surrey students paint mural, paying homage to First Nations, at SkyTrain station

Artwork to showcase ‘positivity and racial inclusivity in the city’

PHOTOS: Residents showcased as ‘companion’ sculpture unveiled

Amica White Rock welcomes bronze guardian, celebrates resident talent

More than 50,000 checks: Surrey COVID-19 compliance, enforcement team’s role has ‘evolved’

Joint bylaw, RCMP team created to help with coronavirus education, support

‘Don’t kill my mom’: Ryan Reynolds calls on young British Columbians to be COVID-smart

‘Deadpool’ celebrity responds to premier’s call for social influence support

Captain Horvat’s OT marker lifts Canucks to 4-3 win over Blues

Vancouver takes 2-0 lead in best-of-7 NHL playoff series with St. Louis

PHOTOS/VIDEO: Wings and Wheels set for weekend lift-off in Abbotsford

Fundraiser to raise money for Crystal Gala Foundation and the fight against breast cancer

Undercover video shows alleged animal abuse at Fraser Valley egg farm

One employee wearing logo of Chilliwack chicken-catching company already facing abuse charges

Widow of slain Red Deer doctor thanks community for support ahead of vigil

Fellow doctors, members of the public will gather for a physically-distanced vigil in central Alberta

Protesters showcase massive old yellow cedar as Port Renfrew area forest blockade continues

9.5-foot-wide yellow cedar measured by Ancient Forest Alliance campaigners in Fairy Creek watershed

Taking dog feces and a jackhammer to neighbourhood dispute costs B.C. man $16,000

‘Pellegrin’s actions were motivated by malice …a vindictive, pointless, dangerous and unlawful act’

Racist stickers at Keremeos pub leaves group uneasy and angry

The ‘OK’ hand gesture is a known hate-symbol

Most Read