Surrey Police Officer of the Year Awards: And the winners are…

Surrey RCMP's two "Police Officer of the Year" award winners work in the detachment's Special Victims Unit.

The 2016 Surrey Police Officer of the Year Awards recipients

SURREY — Surrey RCMP’s two “Police Officer of the Year” award winners work in the detachment’s Special Victims Unit.

Sergeant Lyndsay O’Ruaric, named officer of the year as nominated by the community, was recognized for her “commitment to the long term-care and support of vulnerable children who have experienced trauma.”

Constable Chris Jones was named officer of the year, as nominated by his colleagues, for his “passion for justice and genuine care for the vulnerable and exploited.”

Other award winners include Auxiliary Constable Mark Elson (Auxiliary Constable of the Year), Jody Nelson (Municipal Employee of the Year), D’Arcy Nelson (Volunteer of the Year), the Priority Target Offender Unit (Arnold Silzer Community Policing Initiative Award), Domestic Violence Unit (Police Team Award), and Sophie’s Place Child Advocacy Centre (Police and Business Partnership Award).

Assistant Commissioner Bill Fordy, Lower Mainland district commander for the RCMP, thanked the Surrey Board of Trade for hosting the awards program for the past 20 years.

“The strong partnership that exists between the police and the local business community here is evident,” he said.

Anita Huberman, chief executive officer of the SBT, said the board celebrates the RCMP’s work “because they do excellent work in ensuring the safety of our city and our business.

“Their jobs are not easy,” she said. “Their innovation, work ethic and cross-collaboration make the Surrey RCMP leaders in Canada. In this 20th anniversary, the Surrey Board of Trade is proud to celebrate the Surrey RCMP in this unique event in Canada.”

Just Posted

Fees ensure patients have access to parking at SMH, FHA says

Fraser Health Authority hasn’t heard yet from city hall about pay parking at Surrey hospital

Surrey memories: How the ‘IGUISBCSIR’ Facebook page became a hub for anecdotal history

Former Whalley resident Wes Mussato launched the group in 2011, 11 years after he’d moved to Ontario

OUR VIEW: Fraser Health should park the Surrey Memorial Hospital parking fees

On Monday, city council approved free parking, for two hours at a time, on the streets around SMH

UPDATE: Surrey RCMP say missing 17-year-old girl located

Police say Rachel Friend was last seen at 4:30 p.m. on Nov. 19, near the 14900-block of 81A Avenue

Three-team trade brings another goalie into Surrey Eagles’ nest

BCHL team ships Chase Stevenson to Trail and acquires blue-liner, goalie

Police aim to prevent retaliation after Hells Angel found dead under B.C. bridge

IHIT confirms Chad Wilson, 43, was the victim of a ‘targeted’ homicide

B.C. woman allegedly threatens to rip out intestines of American man

A Kamloops-area woman is accused of harassing and threatening to disembowel an American man

B.C. model looks a lot like expanded taxi industry, ride-hailing group says

Ridesharing Now for BC says it had hoped the bill would be more customer-driven like in other cities

Otter makes a snack out of koi fish in Vancouver Chinese garden

Staff say the otter has eaten at least five fish

731,000 Canadians going into debt to buy prescription drugs: UBC

Millennials and those without private coverage were more likely to borrow money

Pot users, investors need to be vigilant at Canada-U.S. border

U.S. authorities say anyone who admits to having used pot before it became legal could be barred

Shirtless stranger loomed over couch and started stabbing, bloody B.C. murder trial hears

Colin John pleads not guilty as trial opens in 2016 Chemainus murder case

ICBC warns shoppers of the high-accident season at mall parking lots

Over 150,000 accidents happened during the holiday season last year

No deal in sight: Canada Post warns of delivery delays into January

Union holds fifth week of rotating strikes as both sides remain apart on contract negotiations

Most Read