Drew Nicholson finished 281st at the Boston Marathon Monday.

Local runners cross Boston Marathon finish line

Drew Nicholson is first Surrey participant across the finish line at Monday's run

More than a dozen runners from Surrey and White Rock crossed the finish line Monday at the prestigious Boston Marathon – one of the world’s most prestigious distance races.

The fastest of the local bunch was Drew Nicholson, 30, who clocked an official time of two hours, 40 minutes and 18 seconds – good for 281st overall.

In total, 27,165 runners – all of whom had to qualify at previous marathons – participated in the 42.2 km run.

The next Surrey runner to cross the finish line was Josh Weiss, 38, who ran at at 7:01/mile pace and finished in 3:03:44. Chris Bennett, 44, was the third fleetest afoot, and crossed the finish line in 3:19:57.

The fastest Surrey woman on the course was 46-year-old Tanya Zarin, who placed 81st in her age division with a time of 3:25:53.

Three other Surrey competitors also finished inside the top 100 in their respective age groups.

Ray Baker, 67, was 79th in his race division, after clocking an official time of 3:55:50 – nearly six minutes faster than his 2014 Boston Marathon time. Baker, a Surrey doctor, was also one of several local runners at the marathon in 2013, the year the race was marred by bombings near the finish line.

Gayle Robinson, 67 – who, like Baker,  also completed last year’s Boston marathon – placed 18th in her age category, with a time of 4:18:34, which was 14 minutes faster than her 2014 time.

Lynne Spence, 68, also had a strong run Monday, placing 22nd in her division with a time of 4:21:49 – seven minutes better than her time at the event last year.

Other Surrey and White Rock runners to cross the famous Boylston Street finish line Monday were Brian Stewart (3:30:57), Keith Parks (3:33:16), Susannah Duvall (3:34:49), Peter Roberts (3:40:36), Camille Owens (3:41:45), William McKinnon (3:44:20), Marcus Slade (3:48:37), Francisco Velazquez (3:49:08), Erin Jones (3:49:57), Janet Weber (3:54:44), Jill Ferrie (3:57:45), Kristin Catroppa (4:01:18), Robin Vainionpaa (4:06:14), Philip Duquesnay (4:09:12), Christina Ego (4:16:32), Ron Robinson (4:43:36) and Laura Roberts (5:03:04).

The overall Boston Marathon title went to Ethiopian runner Lelisa Desisa, who was the first to break the tape on the finish line, clocking a blistering time of 2:09:17.

He also won the marathon in 2013.

Just Posted

Surrey celebrates multiculturalism with annual Fusion Festival

The two-day festival returns to Holland Park

RCMP investigate two shootings in Surrey

Incidents happened in Whalley, Newton

Surrey Board of Trade fears SkyTrain expansion will impede other transit needs

‘We need transit improvements in all of Surrey,’ Anita Huberman says

Public hearing set for two Surrey modular housing projects for homeless

Surrey council set to vote Monday on projects in Guildford, Whalley

Rich the Vegan scoots across Canada for the animals

Rich Adams is riding his push scooter across Canada to bring awareness to the dog meat trade in Asia

Canadian high school science courses behind on climate change, says UBC study

Researchers found performance on key areas varies by province and territory

UPDATE: One dead after house fire in rural Maple Ridge

Dewdney Trunk Road closed, traffic being re-routed

Six inducted into BC Hockey Hall of Fame

The 26th ceremony in Penticton welcomed powerful figures both from on and off the ice

Highway 1 closed near Revelstoke

No estimated time for opening

CRA program to help poor file taxes yields noticeable bump in people helped

Extra money allows volunteer-driven clinics to operate year-round

Recall: Certain Pacific oysters may pose threat of paralytic shellfish poisoning

Consumers urged to either return affected packages or throw them out

How a Kamloops-born man helped put us on the moon

Jim Chamberlin did troubleshooting for the Apollo program, which led to its success

Most Read