Showcase for Surrey’s best

The top graduating high school basketball talent in Surrey will be on display with the annual All-Star Classic showcase Friday, April 4 at Enver Creek Secondary (14505 84th Ave.).

The event brings together the best Grade 12 players in the city for one final game to end their high school careers.

The prestigious Surrey RCMP scholarships will also be awarded that night. The showcase opens with the girls’ game at 6 p.m. followed by the senior boys event at 7:30 p.m. The senior boys’ teams will be coached Mike McKay of Tamanawis and Nick Day of Fleetwood Park.

Participating players include: Jonathan Kongbo and Bright Dododza (Holy Cross); Moses Adediran and Iyanu Akindele (Pacific Academy); Parmvir Bains, Sukhjot Bains, Sukhraj Biring and Sukhman Sandhu (Tamanawis); Akashi Grewal and Kevin Alexandrov (Fleetwood Park); Ziggy Brown (Sullivan Heights); Parmeet Matharu (Enver Creek); Anoop Nahal and Matt Grewal (North Surrey); Nimrit Plaha (Panorama Ridge); and Arsh Dhatt (Southridge).

Lord Tweedsmuir’s Nick Smith and Semiahmoo’s Skylar Sheehan also earned invitations but are unable to participate.

Team B.C. curlers Surrey and North Delta will be well represented on the curling rinks at the Canada Winter Games in Prince George next year.

The teams to represent B.C. at the games were chosen at a playdown event in Vernon March 21-23 with two local skips emerging on top.

In girls’ competition, Seaquam’s Sarah Daniels emerged as the skip of B.C.’s best. She is a two-time provincial high school champion and the 2014 BC junior champion.

She is joined by 2014 BC Winter Games champion Dezaray Hawes at third, and Thompson/Okanagan duo of second Cierra Fisher and lead Sydney Hofer.

The quartet went undefeated through round-robin play to clinch the spot on Team BC.

In the boys draw, Surrey’s Tyler Tardi skipped a rink of players from around the province (third Sterling Middleton, second Nicholas Umbach and lead Timothy Henderson) to victory in Vernon.

Tardi was named the winner of the 2014 W.R. Bennett Award for Athletic Excellence at the recent B.C. Winter Games in Mission.