Spurs are best in the West

Cloverdale Pee Wee baseball team wins gold in Saskatoon

Spurs are best in the West

With two wins on the final day of play, the Cloverdale Spurs have won the Baseball Canada Western Championship.

The Spurs wrapped up a three-day tournament in Saskatchewan Sunday evening,  defeating the host Saskatoon Blue Jays in the championship game.

The Blue Jays led 3-0 after batting in their half of the third inning, but Cloverdale responded with four of their own. A double by Spencer Pawliw drove in the first two runs, and Tre Pankratz singled to bring in two more.

Saskatoon regained the lead by the midway point of the fifth inning, but the Spurs did all the scoring after that. A home-run from Rhys Cratty and a run-scoring double from Pankratz put the B.C. team back in front.

In the bottom of the sixth, Pawliw double to score Dryden Dion and Michael O’Toole, then scored himself on Wesley Moore’s single.

The Spurs defeated Sherwood Park 11-5 in a semifinal contest Sunday morning.

Tanner Carmont drove in three runs and scored twice, going two-for-three with a home run. Cratty also homered.

Cloverdale went 2-1 (won-loss) in round robin play, placing second in their four-team group. They began play with a 14-4 victory over Winnipeg South last Thursday.

Cratty hit his first of four home runs in the tournament, and was two-for-three with three RBIs (runs batted in) and three runs scored.

They then lost their only game of the competition, 14-4 to Spruce Grove on Friday morning, a game that lasted just five innings. Down 8-0, the Spurs scored their four runs in the top of the fourth inning. Quinn Folick hit a solo home run, then Carmont belted a two-run double before scoring on O’Toole’s two-base hit.

A 13-2 win in five innings over the Saskatoon A’s Friday evening clinched a playoff berth. Moore collected three RBIs, Cratty hit a two-run home run and Folick went three-for-four with three runs scored.

Other members of the Cloverdale Spurs were Brendan Loewen, Tajan Harye, Dylan Kirby, Liam Vulcano, Adam Reston and Jack Opsahl.

Surrey North Delta Leader