Who will fill the seats at city council and boards of education in Surrey and Delta? Ninety-six names are in the running.

Election 2014: Seven line up for Surrey mayor’s job; Delta mayor re-elected by acclamation

Another 89 people are running for seats on Surrey and Delta councils and boards of education.

The nomination period for civic candidates closed on Friday afternoon (Ot. 10), leaving a healthy list of people running for civic office this fall.

Below is the list of contenders running for a seat on Surrey and Delta councils and boards of education (asterisk denotes incumbent).

Candidates have until Oct. 17 to withdraw their names.

For Surrey mayor:

Vikram Bajwa Independent

John Edwards Independent

Linda Hepner Surrey First

Doug McCallum Safe Surrey Coalition

Barinder Rasode One Surrey Electors Association

Grant Rice Independent

John Wolanski Independent


For Surrey council:

Maz Artang One Surrey Electors Association

Saira Aujla Independent

Merv Bayda One Surrey Electors Association

Tanvir Bhupal Independent

Cliff Blair Independent

Michael Bose One Surrey Electors Association

Darlene Bowyer One Surrey Electors Association

Obi Canuel Independent

Narima Dela Cruz One Surrey Electors Association

Nav Dhanoya Independent

Jas Dhillon Independent

Fiona Dionne Independent

Kal Dosanjh One Surrey Electors Association

James Duncan Independent

Rita Elvins Independent

Shawn Francis Independent

Stephen Gammer TeamSurrey

Touraj Ghanbar-zadeh Independent

Rina Gill Safe Surrey Coalition

Tom Gill* Surrey First

Laurie Guerra Safe Surrey Coalition

Bruce Hayne* Surrey First

Gary Hoffman Independent

Vera LeFranc Surrey First

Brenda Locke TeamSurrey

Mary Martin* Surrey First

Jim McMurtry Independent

Martin Rooney Independent

Rick Scorsese Independent

Beau Simpson Safe Surrey Coalition

Mike Starchuk Surrey First

Barbara Steele* Surrey First

Justin Thind Safe Surrey Coalition

Judy Villeneuve* Surrey First

Dave Woods Surrey First

Brian Young One Surrey Electors Association


For Surrey Board of Education:

Terry Allen* – Surrey First Education

Balraj Atwal – Independent

Rayman Bhuller – Independent

Sukhy Dhillon – Independent

Rina Diaz – Independent

Charlene Dobie* – Independent

Patricia Enair – Independent

Sikandar Hayat – Independent

Bob Holmes – Surrey First Education

Nicole Joliet – Independent

Laurie Larsen* – Surrey First Education

David Matta – Independent

Niovi Patsicakis – Independent

Kirsty Peterson – Independent

Bal Sabharwal – Independent

Sara Sharma – Independent

Jonathan Silveira – Surrey Kids Matter

Harman Singh – Independent

Forrest Smith – Independent

Julie Tapley – Independent

Garry Thind – Surrey First Education

Gary Tymoschuk – Surrey First Education

Shawn Wilson* – Surrey First Education

Laurae McNally* – Independent (acclaimed in White Rock)


For Delta mayor:

Lois Jackson* – no challengers; wins by acclamation


For Delta council:

Johan Ackermann – Delta Connect

Rod Binder – DIVA

Sylvia Bishop* – Independent

Ron Cailliou – Independent

Robert Campbell* – DIVA

Jeannie Kanakos* – Independents Working For You

Heather King –  Independent

Peter Mattoo – Independent

Lori Mayhew – Delta Connect

Bruce McDonald* – Independents Working For You

Ian Paton* – DIVA

Jennifer Thoss – Delta Connect

Peter Van der Velden – Delta Connect

Nicholas Wong – Delta Connect


For Delta Board of Education:

Corinne Atwood – Independent

Rhiannon Bennett – Kids Matter

Donna Burke* – Independent

Laura Dixon* – Independents Working for You

Susan Fetterkind – Independent

Phil Hurt – Independent

Fabian Milat* – Responsible Education and Academic Leadership (REAL)

Carla Qualtrough – REAL

Bruce Reid – Kids Matter

Dale Saip* – REAL

Brad Sherwin – Independent

Nic Slater Kids Matter

Scott Stoilen – REAL

Laura Michelle Thomas – Independent

Val Windsor* – Independent

The civic election will be held on Saturday, Nov. 15.


Surrey North Delta Leader

Get local stories you won't find anywhere else right to your inbox.
Sign up here

Just Posted

Surrey council to consider a $150 FOI fee for attendance requests at city facilities

This is expected to come before council during tonight’s council meeting, on Monday July 13.

Heritage rail to remain closed for both July and August

Fraser Valley Heritage Rail Society may open Cloverdale Station in September

Delta launches online engagement portal

“Let’s Talk Delta” offers variety of feedback methods including surveys, polls, forums and Q&A boards

Story of ‘A Mother’s Journey to Adoption’ told in book by first-time Surrey author

In the 1990s, Raj Arneja and husband Gurpreet adopted two children in India

Proposed White Rock development a ‘nightmare’ for Elm Street neighbours

Density, traffic, loss of views among chief concerns of residents

B.C. records 62 new COVID-19 cases, two deaths since Friday

Province has just over 200 active cases

Hotel rooms for B.C. homeless too hasty, NDP government told

Businesses forced out, but crime goes down, minister says

Wage subsidy will be extended until December amid post-COVID reopening: Trudeau

Trudeau said the extension will ‘give greater certainty and support to businesses’

B.C. government prepares for COVID-19 economic recovery efforts

New measures after July consultation, Carole James says

COVID-19 exposure on Vancouver flight

The Air Canada 8421 flight travelled from Kelowna to Vancouver on July 6

Double homicide investigation leads Vancouver police to Chilliwack

A VPD forensics unit was in Chilliwack Saturday collecting evidence connected to East Van murders

VIDEO: Former Abbotsford resident giving away $1,000

Langley native Alex Johnson creates elaborate treasure hunt to give away cash

Tree planters get help with COVID-19 protective measures

Ottawa funds extra transportation, sanitizing for crews

UPDATE: Abbotsford shooting victim was alleged ‘crime boss,’ according to court documents

Jazzy Sran, 43, was believed to have been smuggling cocaine across the border

Most Read