Opinion

As we budget for the season – no matter how much we have to spend – we should give first thought to our local merchants. (123rf.com)

OUR VIEW: Businesses in Surrey need us this Christmas

Shopping local, especially now, is an investment in our community’s future

  • Nov 19, 2020
Do you have someone you would like to thank? Or maybe something to get off your chest? Email your rose or rotten tomato to edit@surreynowleader.com.

Roses and Rotten Tomatoes (Nov. 19, 2020)

Our weekly collection of compliments and complaints sent in by readers

  • Nov 19, 2020
Provincial health officer Dr. Bonnie Henry views the Murals of Gratitude exhibition in Vancouver’s Gastown, July 5, 2020. (The Canadian Press)

GUEST COLUMN: COVID-19 masks mandatory in B.C., but not everywhere

Orders require them where necessary, Provincial Health Officer says

  • Nov 17, 2020
People take in the scenery at sunset on Kitsilano Beach in Vancouver, B.C. Thursday, March 19, 2020. The province of British Columbia and the provincial health minister are urging people to practice social distancing to help curb the spread of the coronavirus, and business leaders across the province are encouraging continued unity and commitment from all British Columbians. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jonathan Hayward

LETTER: Together, for a brighter future for all British Columbians

‘Time and time again, British Columbians have shown resolve and strength in coming together’

  • Nov 18, 2020
People take in the scenery at sunset on Kitsilano Beach in Vancouver, B.C. Thursday, March 19, 2020. The province of British Columbia and the provincial health minister are urging people to practice social distancing to help curb the spread of the coronavirus, and business leaders across the province are encouraging continued unity and commitment from all British Columbians. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jonathan Hayward
Do you have someone you would like to thank? Or maybe something to get off your chest? Email your rose or rotten tomato to edit@surreynowleader.com.

Roses and Rotten Tomatoes (Nov. 12, 2020)

Our weekly collection of compliments and complaints sent in by readers

  • Nov 12, 2020
Do you have someone you would like to thank? Or maybe something to get off your chest? Email your rose or rotten tomato to edit@surreynowleader.com.
(Pixabay photo)

LETTER: Joint replacement wait times in B.C.

Arthritis society’s call for government to make reducing wait times a priority

(Pixabay photo)
video
Indigenous illustrator of new Marvel comic inspires hundreds
Tam gives advice on keeping holiday gatherings safe
Canada, Britain strike new trade deal before Brexit deadline
Feds review pandemic warning system
FILE – A salmon pictured in this undated photo (Joel Krahn/Black Press File)

OPINION: Biggest threat facing wild Pacific salmon is Fisheries and Oceans Canada

‘Only Canada allows the farming of Atlantic salmon on the migration routes of wild Pacific salmon’

  • Nov 6, 2020
FILE – A salmon pictured in this undated photo (Joel Krahn/Black Press File)
(Black Press file photo)

SIMPSON: It doesn’t matter who polices Surrey if lenient courts keep coddling criminals

Until courts and MPs toughen up, it doesn’t matter what kind of uniform brings bad guys in

  • Nov 5, 2020
(Black Press file photo)
Do you have someone you would like to thank? Or maybe something to get off your chest? Email your rose or rotten tomato to edit@surreynowleader.com.

Roses and Rotten Tomatoes (Nov. 5, 2020)

Our weekly collection of compliments and complaints sent in by readers

  • Nov 5, 2020
Do you have someone you would like to thank? Or maybe something to get off your chest? Email your rose or rotten tomato to edit@surreynowleader.com.
Photo: twitter@surreyrcmp

OUR VIEW: Surrey fireworks fanatics, be civil

In an ideal world, people don’t selfishly antagonize their neighbours

  • Nov 4, 2020
Photo: twitter@surreyrcmp
According to Facebook’s analytics department, total messaging is up more than 50 per cent over the last month in countries that have been hit the hardest by the coronavirus. (Contributed)

ZYTARUK: Speaking of the truth, and nothing but…

As timeless as the stars, the truth remains constant. It is also purity defined

  • Nov 4, 2020
According to Facebook’s analytics department, total messaging is up more than 50 per cent over the last month in countries that have been hit the hardest by the coronavirus. (Contributed)
Do you have someone you would like to thank? Or maybe something to get off your chest? Email your rose or rotten tomato to edit@surreynowleader.com.

Roses and Rotten Tomatoes (Oct. 29, 2020)

Our weekly collection of compliments and complaints sent in by readers

  • Oct 29, 2020
Do you have someone you would like to thank? Or maybe something to get off your chest? Email your rose or rotten tomato to edit@surreynowleader.com.
Pixabay image

OUR VIEW: Grow up and join the fight against COVID-19 in Surrey

All of us in Surrey need to ask ourselves if we are on the right side of the fight against COVID-19, or are we not

  • Oct 28, 2020
Pixabay image
B.C.’s parliament building, Victoria. (Photo: Tom Fletcher)

ZYTARUK: Votes come at a premium price. Time to pay the tab

Promises are rained upon the voting public much like confetti being blasted from the maw of a cannon, or particles of ash spewn from an erupting volcano

  • Oct 27, 2020
B.C.’s parliament building, Victoria. (Photo: Tom Fletcher)
Do you have someone you would like to thank? Or maybe something to get off your chest? Email your rose or rotten tomato to edit@surreynowleader.com.

Roses and Rotten Tomatoes (Oct. 22, 2020)

Our weekly collection of compliments and complaints sent in by readers

  • Oct 22, 2020
Do you have someone you would like to thank? Or maybe something to get off your chest? Email your rose or rotten tomato to edit@surreynowleader.com.
Surrey provincial court. (File photo: Tom Zytaruk)

OUR VIEW: Lenient courts aren’t helping

It’s hard to fault the palpable frustration of Metro Vancouver Transit Police

  • Oct 21, 2020
Surrey provincial court. (File photo: Tom Zytaruk)
An example of a Surrey Police cruiser, showcased at Mayor Doug McCallum’s State of the City Address at Civic Hotel in May of 2019. (File photo: Amy Reid)

LETTER: Key to understanding Surrey’s policing transition is to look ahead, not behind

Independent police service is long overdue and it shouldn’t be treated like political football

  • Oct 16, 2020
An example of a Surrey Police cruiser, showcased at Mayor Doug McCallum’s State of the City Address at Civic Hotel in May of 2019. (File photo: Amy Reid)
People can vote-by-mail, attend advance voting or vote on election day (Oct. 24). File photo.

POLL: How will you be voting in this election?

People can vote-by-mail, attend advance voting or vote on election day

People can vote-by-mail, attend advance voting or vote on election day (Oct. 24). File photo.
Do you have someone you would like to thank? Or maybe something to get off your chest? Email your rose or rotten tomato to edit@surreynowleader.com.

Roses and Rotten Tomatoes (Oct. 15, 2020)

Our weekly collection of compliments and complaints sent in by readers

  • Oct 15, 2020
Do you have someone you would like to thank? Or maybe something to get off your chest? Email your rose or rotten tomato to edit@surreynowleader.com.
Most lanes remain closed at the Peace Arch border crossing into the U.S. from Canada, where the shared border has been closed for nonessential travel in an effort to prevent the spread of the coronavirus, Thursday, May 7, 2020, in Blaine, Wash. The restrictions at the border took effect March 21, while allowing trade and other travel deemed essential to continue. (AP Photo/Elaine Thompson)

OPINION: Why trade restrictions must be eliminated during 2nd wave of COVID-19

Nearly 100 countries enacted temporary restrictions or bans on the export of medical products this year

  • Oct 8, 2020
Most lanes remain closed at the Peace Arch border crossing into the U.S. from Canada, where the shared border has been closed for nonessential travel in an effort to prevent the spread of the coronavirus, Thursday, May 7, 2020, in Blaine, Wash. The restrictions at the border took effect March 21, while allowing trade and other travel deemed essential to continue. (AP Photo/Elaine Thompson)